Walking to the train station the other day, I run into a beautiful black woman, she smiles at me in approval. Her expression is comforting,  like a parent proud of her child. For the past month and half, I had been running into multiple black women serving me the same expression. Then it strucked me: it was all about my NATURAL KINKY HAIR. Cutting my hair, I was just relieved to not have to deal with the relaxing, the expensive hair braiding and all care needed with my chemically corrupted hair. I had no idea that at the same time, I had become part of a movement, a statement. Yes! That is what natural hair represent for many: a statement that “we agree with the hair God has chosen for us”. But it went even further with communities, blogs, etc… to spread the message and encourage all the “naturalistas”, the “sistas” to go back to Organic.
I had become a “sista” and was fully proud of it. I was a little concerned about how my natural hair will stand in the corporate world but I was ready to stand by it an defend my “Natural”.
On the opposite side of this spectrum, my friend Nowest had been trying to convince me to relax my hair as my afro grew bigger and fuller. “This afro is not manageable, not pretty and so not professional! How are you expecting people at work to take you seriously?”. I proceeded to show Nowest the many styles that I could get my hair into. I also told her how natural hair was fashionable in the States now (Nowest by the way lives in the Ivory Coast) and people had started to accept and love it. Her response is what triggered me to write this post. “Girl, you need to stop being so westernized because I don’t know how else you will come back home. You have to remember where you come from and stick with your origins”. L O L. Well! I thought that is what I and all the Sistas were doing, remembering and being true to where we come from, to who we really are! To Nowest, the new norm was relaxed hair. Why? Had westernization corrupted minds to the point that too many had lost their conception of selves. Who are we truly?

